Punch announces regional Publican of the Year winners

Punch announces regional Publican of the Year winners
17/02/2017 - 08:48
Pub company Punch Taverns has announced the regional winners for the east midlands and south Yorkshire Publican of the Year Awards.

Regional director Steve Burns, said: “The publicans have shown a continued commitment to running outstanding pubs over the last 12 months and the awards provide a great opportunity to celebrate their successes and strengthen the relationship we have with our talented publicans.”

The awards aim to further establish the relationship between Punch and its publicans by congratulating them on all they have achieved.

Awards were broken down by areas, starting with the Punch development managers’ shortlist of their nominated Publicans, each selected for showcasing ‘best pub practice’. This was followed by the grand finale of Punch crowning the overall winners on the night.

The full list of winners are below and a video of Punch CEO Duncan Garrood addressing publicans at the ceremony can also be watched below.

Regional Publican of the Year Winner: Allison Lund from the Waterloo, Wakefield

Newcomer Award: – Andy Longworth & Claire Fleetwood from the Blacksmiths, Doncaster

Lifetime Achievement Award: Steve Callaghan from Three Horseshoes, Coalville

Newcomer Award: Beccy Webster from the Blacks Head, Carlton

Mystery Guest Awards: Henry & Kitty Wagg from the Crown & Glove, Sheffield

Service Hero Award: Steve Cave from the Risley Park in Derby (this award is for a member of staff who works in the pub and has impressed a Punch representative)

Area Publican of the Year winners:

Dawn & Fred Fletcher from the Anchor Inn, Glossop

Anna from the Strugglers, Lincoln

Steve Osborne from the Coach & Horses, Nottingham

John Key & Gail Weston from the White Hart, Quorn, Loughborough

Tim Turner from the Greyhound, Belper

Glynn Stebbing from the Pen Nook, Sheffield

Henry & Kitty Wagg from the Crown & Glove, Sheffield

Special Recognition:

Glyn Naden from the Jolly Sailor, Macclesfield

Kate Wade from the Mayflower, Immingham

Shaun Slater from the Black Rock Hotel, Wakefield

Steve Frobisher from the Carpenters, Doncaster

Darren & Marie Faulkner from the Top House, Nottingham

Chris Hacket from the Gladstone, Nottingham

Pete Wagstaff & Dave Scott from the Ashby Tavern, Hinckley

Trevor & Nadine Price from the Masons Arms, Mickleover

Ian & Sue Moon from the Chequers, Ilkeston

Jack & Gill Halsall from the Crown, Totley

Glynn Stebbing from the Pen Nook, Sheffield

Copyright 2017 EatOut Magazine
Dewberry Redpoint Limited is a company Registered in England and Wales No : 03129594 Registered Office:
John Carpenter House, John Carpenter Street, London EC4Y 0AN, UK, VAT registered, number 586 7988 48.

Design & Development by Eton Digital